Give Me The Gold of the Setting Sun–Artists Inspired Blog Circle

Our blog circle theme for the month of September is Gold.  I’m not gonna lie, inspiration didn’t exactly wash over me.  It didn’t even trickle over me.  I had to wait.  And think.  And wait (and wait and wait and wait) some more.  “What. The. CRAP. am I gonna write about and how am I going to tie that to the color gold?” is basically what kept running through my mind.  (Incidentally, the possibility of running out of things to talk about is exactly why I was hesitant to start a blog to begin with.  And, look at me, writer’s block just 3 entries into it.  Impressive.)  So, I pushed this theme and project aside.  I got up from my computer (since it was being an uninspiring jerk, anyway) and I played with my kids.  I read a book, I watched some trashy TV, I went for a run (that I am definitely not in good enough shape to do), I decided to never go for another run again, I played with my kids some more and I watched some sunsets, which is just about my favorite way to end the day.  Hoooooo-leeeeeeeeeeee Crap.  The sunset is GOLD!  The angels sang & inspiration finally arrived!  I LOVE SUNSETS.  I am so fully mesmerized by the things that happen at sunset; the way the day eases it’s way into night, they way people on a beach, busy with everything, become silently captivated, the way backyards become more inviting, the way the neighbors meander out into their driveways so the kids can play, the way the neighborhood comes alive with conversation and laughter and fellowship….the way life becomes so, SO beautifully lit!  At the end of the day, give me the gold of the setting sun.

 

Give me the gold of the setting sun,

The sky on fire,

The horizon ablaze.

Give me the breathless moments,

The watching,

The waiting,

The anticipation of the day’s last gasp.

Give me the golden hours,

The golden days,

The golden moments,

The golden years that soon will pass.

And when it has finally set and gone,

Give me the glorious colors of the

Day that is done.

Give me the gold of the setting sun.

IMG_4481IMG_4502

Click on any (or all!) of the images above to see full-sized versions and then, once you’re done, click here to see how the wonderfully talented Elizabeth Willson of It’s Still Life Photography has interpreted this month’s theme.

September is Childhood Cancer Awareness month and this month’s theme was chosen specifically to support that initiative and if you continue far enough into this circle, you’ll see, through the eyes of a very brave Momma, what it’s like to watch your child fight through this battle.  Want to know more about ways you can help?  Click here.

Blog Circle Badge1

The Artists Inspired Blog Circle is made up of an exceptionally talented group of photographers from all walks of life, from all over the world. They are wives, mothers, friends, daughters and visual storytellers who draw from their own experiences to create art that is inspiring, unique, beautiful and thought-provoking.

18 thoughts on “Give Me The Gold of the Setting Sun–Artists Inspired Blog Circle

  1. Nikki!! As always, between your captivating words (and easily relatable thoughts!) and your stunning images, I have fallen in love!! What a beautiful interpretation of “gold!” And, I love (LOVE) the poem, and that amazing line, “Give me the gold of the setting sun”…wow. And you know how much I love sunsets, and how you capture them so perfectly! So beautiful and moving, my friend! ❤

    Like

  2. Stunning images Nikki. I love how you capture your children with sunflares. They are amazing. The image with the setting sun and the boat is so beautiful and so peaceful.

    Like

Leave a comment