Artists Inspired Blog Circle~March | Green

So after all that delicious pizza from last month, now we’re back to colors that aren’t inspiring to me.  haha!  At least, not initially inspirational.   This month, I knew that I didn’t want to write about spring (#alltheallergies #passthekleenex #somuchpollen), and I definitely didn’t want to write about St. Patrick’s Day (#notirish #oradrinker #itsthehangover #imreallyoldforhangovers), so….green was proving tough.  So tough, in fact, that this blog got written 8 hrs before it was set to publish.  Talk about last minute.

Which begs the question….what exactly was I gonna write about this month?  Well, the answer was waiting for me in a folder of images that I took a couple of weeks ago.  Images that I was initially really stoked about, but had forgotten about because life just got in the way, as it tends to do.

Last month, I turned 40 and, I just really didn’t want a party.  At ALL. I’m one of those in-my-pajamas-by-7pm kind of people sooooooo…..yeah.  No party.  What I did want was an adventure.  I love adventure and, as a busy mom to two VERY active kids, that opportunity doesn’t exactly come around that often.  So, I left it up to my husband to plan it and was game for whatever he came up with.  What he came up with took my breath away.  A day on Cumberland Island, in the southeast corner of Georgia was exactly the adventure I needed.  This quiet, minimally developed, oak tree-covered barrier island was, unquestionably, paradise.  Folks, I don’t use this word lightly because, my idea of paradise generally leans toward tropical islands covered with palm trees, not buggy islands covered with oak trees.  Nevertheless, the peace here, the tranquility here, the untouched BEAUTY here all equaled paradise in my book.  Time sort of stands still, there’s no hurry to be anywhere or do anything, noise pollution (if you can even call it that) comes from the rustle of the palmettos as an animal scampers through the woods or from the birds chirping in the branches, or from the wind blowing through the trees or from one of the nearly 300 wild horses, neighing in the distance.  Not from cars, or planes, or trains or from people and, best of all, not from cell phones.  Paradise, unplugged.

And, so, my ode to green this month as a part of the Artists Inspired Blog Circle is just a small glimpse into a wildly peaceful, beautifully rugged adventure that my soul had been craving for far too long.

IMG_1925watermark.jpg
The main road (called Main Road) on the west side of the island.  A Robert Frost poem come to life.  
IMG_1987colorwatermark.jpg
Our mode of transportation around the island.  Equal parts romantic….and exhausting (peddling through soft sand for hours on end is no joke!)
IMG_1938
The Dungeness ruins.  Eerie and captivating, it made for a SUPER fun backdrop for a picnic.  Hit Google to see what this place looked like in it’s hey-day.  It was spectacular.
IMG_1998watermark.jpg
One of the locals.
IMG_2046.jpg
A pretty dapple enjoying a mid-day snack.

Now that you’ve seen a bit of my birthday adventure tinged in green, click here to follow this circle on to see how the wonderfully talented Elizabeth Willson, of It’s Still Life Photography, has interpreted this month’s theme.

 

Blog Circle Badge1

The Artists Inspired Blog Circle is made up of an exceptionally talented group of photographers from all walks of life, from all over the world. They are wives, mothers, friends, daughters and visual storytellers who draw from their own experiences to create art that is inspiring, unique, beautiful and thought-provoking.

 

15 thoughts on “Artists Inspired Blog Circle~March | Green

  1. Nikki – I am soooo jealous. I have been telling Richard that this is on my bucket list to go to. A friend went there a few years ago and all she could tell me about was the wild horses and that had me. You images are beautiful. The road – oh my – wow. I love the building image with that gorgeous sky and of course I love the horses. I need to get these feet working again so that we can go there. That would be such a treat.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really hope you get to go–pictures just can never do it justice (even though I tried, haha!). It’s a full-sensory experience that just takes your breath away.

      Like

  2. Just really, really pretty! Those ruins and oak paths were just breathtaking!! I’m a tad jealous (except for pedaling in soft sand…that sounds quite not very fun for these legs!) Beautiful images!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment